Senior Department Awards

The Middlebury College Department of Athletics hands out its senior awards during a ceremony each May. Please click on the name of the respective award name for a complete list of previous winners:

A. Bayard Russ ’66 Memorial Athletic Award
Honoring, when merited, that senior who is most outstanding in two intercollegiate sports by best exemplifying the excellence of performance, aggressiveness, leadership, tremendous desire and team spirit of A. Bayard Russ ‘66.

Deborah Parton '76 Memorial Award
Established in 1981, the award is given to an individual who best exemplifies the spirit and dedication of Deborah Parton ’76.

Hazeltine-Klevenow Memorial Trophy
For best combining ability in athletics and excellence in scholarship.

John P. Stabile '40 Memorial Trophy
Awarded annually to the male athlete who best exemplifies the Middlebury Spirit.

Mike Wilson '57 Trophy
Awarded, when merited, to the Middlebury athlete, who, while overcoming personal challenge, has shown such spirit, enthusiasm and unselfish devotion to the members of the team that is has been an inspiration in creating team morale.

Murphy Roberts '17 Memorial Award
Awarded, when merited, to the Middlebury varsity athlete who inspires teammates with the selflessness, enthusiasm and team spirit demonstrated by Murphy Roberts.


2018 Award Winners
Front Row (L-R): Kate McCluskey, Evangeline Dunphy, Taylor Gardner, Becca Raffel and Janka Hlinka. Back Row (L-R): John Jackson, Sebastian Sanchez, Tanner Contois, Kevin Hopsicker and Middlebury College President Laurie L. Patton. Not pictured: Evie Keating and Kyle Schlanger.