Deborah Parton '76 Memorial Award

Established in 1981, the award is given to an individual who best exemplifies the spirit and dedication of Deborah Parton ’76.

Parton attended high school in Middlebury and later matriculated to the College. She played varsity field hockey throughout her college career and was, as in high school, captain of the team her senior year. She was also a member of the Women’s Athletic Association and the intramural softball team.

She was class agent for the Class of 1976, and her classmates honored her by nominating and electing her for a two-year term as Alumni Trustee in 1978.

Parton returned to Middlebury to work at the Addison Independent and was tragically killed in an automobile accident in February of 1980.

She is remembered for her enthusiastic spirit, reverence for and appreciation of her family, loyalty to friends, and leadership. 

Previous Winners:

2019          Caroline Bartlett
2018          Janka Hlinka
2017          Amanda Haik
2016          Katie Mandigo
2015          Michelle Peng
2014          Lindsay Kingston
2013          Heather Marrison
2012          Brittany Perfetti
2011          Julia Ireland
2010          Kaitlyn Fallon
2009          Lindsay Patterson
2008          Lacey Farrell
2007          Shannon Sylvester
2006          Kate Kogut
2005          Mayo Fujii
2004          Missy Krempa
2003          Kate Perine
2002          Billie Goldman
2001          Sarah Carpenter
2000          Sarah Hall
1999          Chrissy Peterson
1998          Rebecca Sama
1997          Nellie Fox
1996          Katherine Hubert
1995          Loralie Rackleff
1994          K.D. Falso
1993          Kathleen McGillicuddy
1992          Mary Blanchard
1991          Kathleen Murphy
1990          Kelley McSweeney
1989          Marci Griffith
1988          Pam Lawson
1987          Gretchen Lardner
1986          Sarah Buffum
1985          Anne Davis
1984          Robin Harris
1983          Carolyn McCallum
1982          Michele Plante
1981          Alice Tower