Women’s Hockey Players Honored by the NESCAC; Leidt is Rookie of the Year, Mandigo Tabbed Coach of the Year

(L-R): Jessica Young, Jenna Marotta, Madie Leidt and head coach Bill Mandigo.
(L-R): Jessica Young, Jenna Marotta, Madie Leidt and head coach Bill Mandigo.


Three players from the fourth-ranked Middlebury women's hockey team were recognized when the NESCAC announced its postseason honors, while Bill Mandigo was tabbed as the Coach of the Year. Senior Jessica Young (Mission Hills, Kan.) and junior Jenna Marotta (Katy, Texas) were both named First-Team All-NESCAC, while first-year player Madie Leidt (Killingworth, Conn.) was selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. The group is preparing to host the NESCAC Championship weekend in Kenyon Arena on March 3-4.

Young is a four-time All-NESCAC honoree, after earning first-team honors the last two seasons and being selected to the second team following her first two. The former NESCAC Rookie of the Year ranks second in the conference in points (32) and is tied for third in goals (15). The forward's eight power-play goals are also tied for the NESCAC lead. Young has recorded at least one point in 18 of the team's 25 contests and has recorded 10 multiple-point games.

Marotta earns her initial first-team All-NESCAC honor, as the top scoring defender in the league. She has two goals and a team-leading 18 assists, while quarterbacking the NESCAC's top power-play unit. Middlebury is tied for fifth nationally in team defense, allowing 1.16 goals per game. Earlier in the season, Marotta factored in on three of the team's four goals in a pair of shutouts at Bowdoin and was named the NESCAC Player of the Week.

Leidt is currently third on the team in scoring with 24 points and is tied for third in the conference with 15 goals. She has been on a tear of late, scoring at least once in each of the last four games and has seven tallies during that time. The forward is tied with Young with eight power-play goals and ranks second on the team with four game winners.

Mandigo, the NCAA all-time leader in victories with 559, guided the Panthers to a 13-1-2 league mark and top seed in the conference tournament for the eighth-straight season. The veteran coach earned his 550th career win on January 9 with a 1-0 triumph at Bowdoin. This marks the fourth time he has been name the NESCAC Coach of the Year, previously being honored in 2004, 2011 and 2016.