Dartmouth Wins Middlebury Carnival (EISA Championships)

Dartmouth Wins Middlebury Carnival (EISA Championships)

Dartmouth completed its carnival sweep this season as they captured the Middlebury Carnival (EISA Championships) to wrap up the carnival circuit. The Big Green finished with 928.5 points, followed by Vermont in second (858), Middlebury in third (833) and UNH in fourth (682). 

Dartmouth continued its nordic domination as they won both the women's 5K and men's 10K freestyle races. The Big Green placed the top three finishers in the men's race and four of the top five. Benjamin True won the event with a time of 24:38, followed by teammate Glenn Randall (25:01) in second place. Michael Sinnott (25:08), Sylvan Ellefson of Bates (25:12) and Dartmouth's Ben Koons (25:15) rounded out the top five.

Simeon Hamilton led the Middlebury racers in sixth place (25:19), followed by Jimmy Ades in 19th (26:31) and Tim Reynolds in 20th (26:32).

The skiers finished in pairs on the women's race, with Dartmouth, Vermont and Middlebury placing racers one through six. Dartmouth's Sara Studebaker won the even with a time of 13:52, followed by her teammate Elsa Sargent (13:56). Finishing in third place was Vermont's Katrina Howe (14:06), with Carina Hamel in fourth (14:12). Middlebury's skiers Cassidy Edwards (14:15) and Jenny Hamilton (14:22) finished in fourth and fifth places respectively. Robyn Anderson finished 17th in 14:41 to round out Middlebury's scorers.

At the Snow Bowl, the Middlebury women and Vermont men won the slalom events. Lindsay Mann of Dartmouth was overall winner on the women's side, finishing with a time of 1:46.88. Vermont's Kara Crow placed second (1:47.99), followed by Michelanne Shields of Dartmouth in third (1:48.30). Middlebury's Tucker Burton came in fourth in 1:48.31, while UNH's Veronique Archambault-Leger rounded out the top five (1:48.37). Middlebury's other scorers were Kristen Poehling (1:48.97) in sixth and Mattie Ford in seventh (1:49.38).

Greg Hardy of Vermont won the men's race, finishing with a time of 1:32.55. David Chodounsky of Dartmouth was second (1:33.18), Zachary Brown of Vermont came in third (1:33.67), followed by Middlebury's Andrew Wagner in fourth (1:33.81). Evan Weiss of Dartmouth rounded out the top five with a time of 1:34.01.

Middlebury's Zeke Davisson in sixth (1:34.09) and Clayton Reed in seventh (1:34.28) finished out the Panthers' scorers.

On Saturday, Dartmouth again swept the nordic events, winning both the women's 15K classical and men's 20K classical races.

The Dartmouth men placed four of the top five racers, with Michael Sinnott winning the event in 57:10. Vermont's Juergen Uhl finished in second (57:12) just two seconds behind, followed by Benjamin True of Darmouth in third (57:22). Dartmouth's Glenn Randall (57:59) and Ben Koons (58:19) rounded out the top five.

Middlebury's top finishers were Simeon Hamilton in sixth (58:39), Tim Reynolds in 23rd (1:01:56) and Jimmy Ades, who placed 25th (1:02:11).

On the women's side, Vermont's Carina Hamel won the race handily with a time of 51:56. The Big Green of Dartmouth placed skiers 2-4, led by Elsa Sargent in second place with a time of 53:02. Susan Dunklee came in third (53:17), Sara Studebaker was fourth (53:24), while Vermont's Jennie Bender (53:54) placed fifth.

Cassidy Edwards led the Middlebury women in seventh (54:24), Jenny Hamilton came in eighth (54:30), while Robyn Anderson was 10th (55:22).

Veronique Archambault-Leger of UNH won the giant slalom, finishing with a combined time of 2:05.67. Dartmouth's Michelanne Shields finished in second (2:06.24), Lindsay Brush of Middlebury was third (2:06.34), while Ashley Spina (2:06.59) and Chelsea Lynch of Vermont (2:06.88) were fourth and fifth respectively. Middlebury's Dorothy Muirhead was ninth (2:07.96), while Tara Martin was 17th (2:09.12) to round out the Middlebury scorers.

In the men's race, Middlebury's Andrew Wagner captured the GS with a combined time of 2:00.34. Eric Mann of Williams came in second (2:00.55), followed by Evan Weiss of Dartmouth in third (2:00.93), Middlebury's Alec Tarberry in fourth (2:01.21) and Dave Chodounsky of Dartmouth in fifth (2:01.32). Joey Swensson was Middlebury's other scorer, placing ninth overall with a time of 2:02.