Four Panthers Earn All-NESCAC Accolades

(L-R): Theo Henderson and Henry Fleming
(L-R): Theo Henderson and Henry Fleming


Four members of the Middlebury College cross country teams earned All-NESCAC honors based on their performances Saturday at the 2019 NESCAC Championships hosted by Williams. Senior Theo Henderson (Cold Spring, N.Y.) was named to the All-NESCAC First Team, while classmate Henry Fleming picked up a second-team laurel. On the women's side, seniors Meg Wilson (Concord, Mass.) and Talia Ruxin (Lexington, Mass.) raced to second-team accolades.

Henderson led the 25th-ranked Panther men to a third-place finish as a team in the conference meet. He picks up his second-straight first-team conference honor with a runner-up effort in the 8K event, marking the highest individual finish since Michael Schmidt won the meet in 2011. Henderson covered the course on Saturday with a time 25:41.8. He has competed in four races this fall, including a seventh-place run during the Connecticut College Invitational.

Fleming earns his first all-conference laurel, crossing the line in 10th place with a time of 26:00.7. The fourth-year Panther has raced in four events this season, highlighted by a win at the season-opening Vermont Tech Invitational.

Wilson was the first Panther woman to finish the 6K race, helping 18th-ranked Middlebury to a fourth-place showing. She placed 10th overall with a time of 22:46.8, earning her first all-conference award. Wilson has earned three top-15 finishes this fall in five races run, including a runner-up effort during the Vermont Tech Invitational.

Ruxin also earns her first all-league accolade, finishing right behind Wilson in 11th place. She stopped the clock with a time of 22:47.1. Ruxin has four top-10 finishes in seven races this season, highlighted by a win at the Vermont Tech Invitational and a runner-up effort at the Aldrich Invitational.

The Panthers return to the course Saturday, November 16 when they compete in the NCAA Regional Championships hosted by Bowdoin. The men's race is scheduled to begin at 11:00 a.m., while the women will start at 12:15 p.m.