Panther Women Runner Up, Men Finish Third at NCAA Regionals

The Panther men pose with their third-place award. (Photo courtesy of Brian Beard/Bowdoin Athletics)
The Panther men pose with their third-place award. (Photo courtesy of Brian Beard/Bowdoin Athletics)

The fifth-ranked Middlebury women's cross country team finished as the runner-up among 57 teams competing, while the 13th-ranked men were third among 58 squads at the NCAA Regional Championships. Races were hosted by Bowdoin at the Pickard Cross Country Course. The women's team receives an automatic bid into the NCAA Championship meet next Saturday in Winneconne, Wisconsin, while the men must wait to see if they garner an at-large bid.

On the men's side, ninth-ranked Amherst won the team crown with 65 points, followed by 12th-ranked Williams (86) and the Panthers (142).

The Panther men were paced by Jonathan Perlman and Henry Fleming, who both concluded their respective races in the top 15 among 391 competitors. Perlman led the group with a 10th-place finish of 25:18.86, while Fleming covered the 8K course with a time of 25:27.97, good for 14th place. Theo Henderson was the next runner to cross the finish line in 21st (25:43.31), while Harrison Knowlton stopped the clock in 36th (26:02.78). Miles Meijer rounded out the scorers for the men in 61st (26:22.24).

Plymouth State's Sam Brunette posted an individual victory with a time of 24:55.97.

Fourth-ranked MIT won the women's title with 87 points just ahead of the Panthers with 108 points and seventh-ranked Williams in third with 115 points.

Rory Kelly continued her solid season for the Panther women, placing fifth overall with a time of 21:37.61. Finishing in eighth place out of 399 competitors was Cassie Kearney, who covered the 6K course in 22:09.79. Abigail Nadler was next for the Panthers in 28th place (22:42.81), followed by Katherine Glew who was right behind in 31st place (22:45.23). Completing the scorers was Claire Gomba, who turned in a 36th-place finish with a mark of 22:49.51.

Coast Guard's Kaitlyn Mooney claimed the individual title with a winning time of 20:43.74.