Cross Country Teams Headed To NCAA Championships

Cross Country Teams Headed To NCAA Championships

The Middlebury College men’s and women's cross country teams will take part in the 2012 NCAA Championship races hosted by Rose-Hullman Institute of Technology. The 32-team races will take place at LaVern Gibson Course in  Terre Haute, Indiana with the women’s event at 11:00 a.m. and the men’s race at 12:00 p.m. eastern.

The fifth-ranked women are making their 17th straight appearance at the event, looking for their seventh NCAA title. The Panthers previously won titles in ’00, ’01, ’03, ’06, ’08 and ‘10 with second place finishes in ’99, ’02, ’04 and ’11. Middlebury earned an at-large bid to the championships after a third place finish at last weekend’s NCAA Regional race. The 11-time NESCAC Champions placed second at the championship race on October 27th.

Making the trip for the second-straight year for the women be will senior Addie Tousley (Kensington, Md.), a two-time All-American along with juniors Emily Attwood (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) and Katie Rominger (Brooklyn, N.Y.). Junior Lucy Whipps (Portland, Ore.) will be joined by sophomores Katie Carlson (Princeton, Mass.), Alison Maxwell (Port Angeles, Wash.), Sarah Guth (Wilton, Conn.) and Summer Spillane (Shelburne, Vt.).

The fourth-ranked men are making their third straight trip to the NCAA’s, owning their highest national ranking in school history. The Panthers finished a program-best 13th last season at the NCAA’s. Middlebury earned its way into the national meet with an automatic bid after winning the NCAA Regional race for the first time last weekend at Westfield State. The ’10 NESCAC Champions placed second at this year’s NESCAC Championship race.

Five men’s racers will return to the NCAA’s for a second consecutive year. Seniors Jack Davies (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) and Patrick Hebble (Sudbury, Mass.) will lead the team as captains. Juniors Greg Krathwohl (Ipswich, Mass.) and Nate Sans (Princeton, Mass.) will be joined by sophomore Kevin Wood (Lincolnshire, Ill.) as returners. Senior Anthony Lee (Plainsboro, N.J.), junior Wilder Schaaf (Ashland, Ore.) and first-year racer Sebastian Matt (New Albany, Ohio) will also represent the men’s squad.

Championship website