Men's Track & Field

Men’s Track & Field Claims Second NESCAC Title, Women Place Second

Men’s Track & Field Claims Second NESCAC Title, Women Place Second

The Middlebury men's track & field team earned its second-straight NESCAC Championship, while the women were second while hosting the 2019 NESCAC Championships at the Dragone Track & Field Complex. The Panthers claimed the men's crown with 201 points, while Tufts was second with 143 and Amherst finished third with 130. The Williams' women won the team title with 165 points, ahead of Middlebury (145.5) and Bowdoin (109). The top-three finishers in each event earned All-NESCAC Honors.

On the men's side, the Panthers recorded nine event wins. Nicholas Hendrix was a part of three titles, as he claimed both the 100-meter dash (10.60) and the 200 meters (21.71). He was also a part of the winning 4x100-meter relay team along with Noah Wagner-Carlberg, Arden Coleman and Conrado Banky, as the Panther quartet won by .01 second with a time of 42.76.

The Panthers swept the top-three spots in the 400 meters, as Jimmy Martinez won with a time of 50.06, while Joshua Howard was the runner-up (50.89) and William Robertson was third (51.02).

Other wins on the track were tallied by Theodore Henderson in the 3,000-meter steeplechase (9:23.70), while the 4x400-meter relay team of Coleman, William Robertson, Joshua Howard and Martinez stopped the clock in 3:23.35.

In the field events, Minhaj Rahman won the hammer throw with a toss of 188'1", while Nathaniel Klein finished in third place (153'10"). John Natalone cleared the pole vault bar with a victorious height of 15'11", as Zack Sieb claimed the discus throw (139'10") and Rahman was third in 134'8".

Other top-three efforts were posted by Jonathan Perlman, who was second in the 1,500 meters (3:58.01), while Nathan Hill was third in the event (3:58.48). Hill crossed the line as the runner-up in the 800 meters (1:53.40), while Klein finished second in the shot put 47'1".

Third-places showings were posted by the 4x800-meter relay team of Hill, Liam Hoagland, Sawyer Tadano and Quinlan McGaugh in 8:03.37, Max Memeger during the long jump (22'6.25") and Alfred Hurley in the javelin toss 168'3".

The Panther women earned four event crowns during the championship, to go along with tying a school record. Katherine MacCary won the day's longest running event, crossing the line first in the 10,000 meters (35:58.49). Rory Kelly earned the 5,000 meters title (17:47.74), just ahead of teammate Abigail Nadler, who was second (17:52.10).

In relay action, the 4x800-meter quartet of Katie Glew, Meg Wilson, Anna Willig and Nicole Johnson posted a winning mark of 9:34.62. The fourth win for the Panther women came from Rebecca Gorman in the javelin with a toss of 135'3".

The 4x400-meter relay team of Lucy Lang, Ava O'Mara, Julia Munz and Gretchen McGrath finished with a time of 4:00.51 for second place, while Kreager Taber was the runner-up in the pole vault, tying her school record with a mark of 11'7.75"

Third-place finishes came from Nadler in the 1,500 meters (4:39.57) and Cassie Kearney during the 800 meters (2:15.83).