Panthers Edged by SUNY Canton, 1-0

Mark McLellan skates with the puck during Saturday's game against Canton.
Mark McLellan skates with the puck during Saturday's game against Canton.

SUNY Canton scored the game's only goal in the third period as the visiting Kangaroos edged Middlebury 1-0 Saturday in the consolation game of the Middlebury Holiday Classic. The Panthers return to conference play Friday at Wesleyan, while Canton travels to Plattsburgh State a day later.

The teams skated through a scoreless opening stanza with Middlebury (0-9-1) taking the first seven shots on goal, holding an 11-5 edge for the period.

Canton (3-9-2) had a good opportunity to score first midway through the middle period when Tyler Bullard circled the Panther net and wristed a shot from the slot that goalie Brian Ketchabaw stopped with his blocker. Middlebury countered late in the frame on a partial breakaway by Mark McLellan, but his bid was denied by the right pad of Kangaroo netminder Josh Erickson.

The visitors netted the winning goal 3:50 into the final period when Bullard touched a short pass across the Panther goal mouth to the right post, where Josh Sova tapped the puck in for his sixth tally of the season.

Middlebury pressed late for the equalizer, playing the final 1:19 with a 6x4 advantage with Ketchabaw pulled for an extra attacker and Canton player in the penalty box. The Panthers nearly tied the game with 19 seconds left, but Trevor Turnbull's shot hit off the left post and the Kangaroos were able to run out the remaining time on the clock.

Ketchabaw made 18 saves for the Panthers, while Erickson made 27 stops for his first career shutout. Middlebury held a 27-19 advantage in shots, while both teams were scoreless on the man advantage with the Panthers receiving four opportunities and the Kangaroos three.

Middlebury's Stephen Klein, who made a career-high 43 saves in the opening round against St. Anselm, earned a spot on the all-tournament team for the Panthers. Sova was named to the team for Canton.

During the championship game, St. Anselm topped Manhattanville by a 2-1 score to claim the title.

MVP – Peter Sikakis – St. Anselm
All-Tournament Team
Jeremy Carignan – St. Anselm
Brendan Kerrigan – St. Anselm
Teagan Waugh – Manhattanville
Thimmy Garbenius - Manhattanville
Stephen Klein – Middlebury
Josh Sova - Canton