Classroom Accolades From NFHCA Continue for Panthers

Classroom Accolades From NFHCA Continue for Panthers


The Middlebury field hockey team continued to reap the rewards of hard work when the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced the 2018 ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III Collegiate National Academic Squad list. A total of 20 Panthers were honored for their grade point average.

The National Academic Squad recognizes those student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year. Earning the individual award were seniors Amanda Bozorgi, Megan Collins, Kelly Coyle, Molly Freeman and Grace Jennings, as Bozorgi and Freeman were recognized as four-year honorees for the academic award. Garnering spots on the list were juniors Marissa Baker, Alison Denby, Emma Johns, Sophia Peluso and Julia Richards, as well as sophomores Danielle Brown, Isabel Chandler, Selin Everett, Diana Milne and Erin Nicholas.

Rounding out the individual academic honorees were first-year players Grace Harlan, Riley Marchin, Grace Murphy, Hannah Sullivan and Joan Vera.

On the field, the Panthers earned the program's third NCAA Championship in the last four years and fourth overall with a school-record 21 wins (21-1). During four NCAA Tournament games, Middlebury outscored three nationally-ranked opponents by a 19-3 tally, including a 2-0 shutout in the championship game against third-ranked Tufts. The Panthers set a single-season record with their 11th shutout in the title contest and have won 14th-straight post-season games. Middlebury also became the first team to repeat as national champions since Bowdoin accomplished the feat in 2007-08.